The Sigma Alpha Epsilon Chapter House was originally constructed in 1923. The initial money used to fund construction was donated by the Florida Upsilon brothers themselves. These brothers donated their life insurance policies before their departure to Europe to fight in World War one, and upon their untimely deaths the money was given to the chapter for construction. The house was located on the corner of University Avenue and 13th Street. It served as the SAE chapter house until 1964, when the current house was completed.
Currently, the SAE house is located at 2256 Museum Road, formerly 2 Fraternity Row, on campus. The house was designed by Architect and Alumni Brother, Gene Leedy, from Winter Haven, Florida. The design was unique for its time on a university campus and has withstood the test of time. It continues to demonstrate its resilience and vibrance. Gene Leedy received the Award of Merit, from the Prestressed Concrete Institute inChicago for the design of the SAE Fraternity House at the University of Florida.